Donnerstag, 27. Oktober 2011

Review - Carnifex - Until I Feel Nothing

Carnifex 2011
Cover Artwork

1. Deathwish
2. We Spoke of Lies
3. A Grave to Blame
4. Dead but Dreaming
5. Creation Defaced
6. Dehumanize
7. Until I Feel Nothing
8. Never Forgive Me
9. Wretched Entropy
10. Curse My Name

The executioner strikes again

Breakdowns, tremolo picking, growls, screams, blastbeats and a playtime of a little over 30 minutes. All the same in the Carnifex Camp you think? Well, not completely.

Continuing the development started on "Hell Chose Me", the San Diego-based deathcore outfit tends more and more to traditional death metal. The main riff of the title track being one of the main examples.

But that's not all. With the help and advice of producer Tim Lambesis, the band has focused on writing more fluent songs with actual hooklines and catchier melodies. Just check the underlying melody of "Dead but Dreaming" or the black metal influenced riffing on "Curse My Name".

The plan hasn't worked out completely though. Acoustic elements, even featuring strings ("Creation Defaced", "Until I Feel Nothing"), do loosen up the songs a little bit. Yet, at one point or another, the songs are a little bit too samey. The fact that the drums are slightly too loud only adds to that feeling.

Speaking of the sound of the record: For a modern metal production, it is top notch, especially the bass sound stands out.  The clean parts fit well into the audibility of the record, which often is a problem.

With "Until I Feel Nothing", Carnifex develop more and more into a more traditional death metal band while staying true to their roots.
I hope we'll see more of that development on the next record. For now, we should enjoy Carnifex for what they are: A simply brutal modern death metal with heavy break parts.

Carnifex - Until I Feel Nothing Official Video

Carnifex - Studio Episode 1/4

Keine Kommentare: